2008 Outstanding Accomplishment Awards

Change is in the air this winter, along with tough fiscal times. However, the consistently convivial all-staff holiday party—held on December 12 at Center Green and sponsored by the Employee Activities Committee—remained true to its upbeat self.

The Sizzle String Band set the opening mood, with several bluegrass numbers performed by David Brown (CISL), Lynda McGinley (CISL), Jeff Alipit (CISL), Nan Rosenbloom (ESSL/CGD), John Hernandez (CISL), and Ed Snyder (CISL). Watch the video of the Sizzle String Band. They were followed by the UCARolers, who delivered a holiday round acknowledging Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, the winter solstice, Ramadan, and Boxing Day. UCARolers leader Craig Hartsough (ESSL/ACD) conducted a blend of “The Christmas Song” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” and the group finished with a tribute to the Mauna Loa Solar Observatory, sung to the tune of the Hawaiian-themed holiday classic “Mele Kalikimaka.” Watch the video of the tribute to Mauna Loa.

Following the music, UCAR president Rick Anthes presented the 2008 Outstanding Accomplishment Awards (see below), and partygoers savored an array of holiday food and drink provided by Event Services.

Pictured below are this year’s Outstanding Accomplishment Award winners. Nominations in each category can be found on the Outstanding Accomplishment Awards page.

–Bob Henson

Administrative Achievement

Jeff Reaves, Gina Taberski, Amy Smith, Meg McClellan, Kim Prinzi-Kimbro, and Ingrid Moore for their work on COSMIC/FORMOSAT-3 (Constellation Observing System for Meteorology, Ionosphere, and Climate/Formosa Satellite Mission #3). This team assumed overall leadership for the program, continually evaluated and effectively managed the risks, negotiated the numerous agreements among the various parties (including the government of Taiwan), and engaged in extensive shuttle diplomacy to resolve the many issues that arose. Unprecedented for UCAR in its complexity and magnitude, this program required a great deal of creativity and innovation to manage the financial, contractual, and legal risks that it posed.

awards 2008

Education and Outreach

Don Murray, Jeff McWhirter and Yuan Ho (Unidata) for the design, development, support and advancement of the Integrated Data Viewer (IDV) to foster education and outreach in the geosciences.

awards 2008


Chris Davis (ESSL/MMM), for mentoring efforts that have influenced and motivated numerous graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, and junior scientists.

awards 2008

Outstanding Publication

Britt Stephens (EOL and TIIMES) for “Weak northern and strong tropical land carbon uptake from vertical profiles of atmospheric CO2,” Science 316 (2007), 1732-1735.

awards 2008

Scientific and Technical Advancement

Gary New and Julie Harris (CISL); Steven Haynes, Dave Patterson, Dave Maddy, Brian McMillan, John Adamson, Matt Monahan, Dave Heckel, Gordon Kinn, John Harkness, Sandra Sundquist, Leonard Cooper, Bruce Kovalski, and Keith White (Physical Plant Services); Peter Chamberlain (Business Services); and Bart Woodiel (EOL) for designing, implementing, and commissioning significant new ML infrastructure as part of the Bluefire Facilities Infrastructure Team.

awards 2008


On the web:

Watch a video of the Sizzle String Band

UCARolers singing a tribute to the Mauna Loa Solar Observatory