Two new AGU fellows from NCAR

Deser, Meehl recognized by scientific society

August 27, 2014 | Congratulations to the following senior scientists from NESL/CGD who are newly elected American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fellows

Clara Deser
Clara Deser. (Image courtesy State Key Laboratory of Numerical Modeling for Atmospheric Sciences and Geophysical Fluid Dynamics.)

Clara Deser is head of the Climate Analysis Section within NESL/CGD. Her research interests include diagnostic analysis of observed climate variability in the coupled atmosphere-ocean-ice system, as well as future climate change. Clara co-chairs the Climate Variability and Change Working Group for the Community Earth System Model. 

Jerry Meehl
Jerry Meehl. (Image courtesy National Geographic.)

Jerry Meehl studies the interactions between El Niño/Southern Oscillation (ENSO) and the monsoons of Asia, human and natural influences on global climate, and possible future changes of weather and climate extremes in a warmer climate. Jerry has participated in Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change assessments as a contributing author (1990), lead author (1995), coordinating lead author (2001, 2007), and lead author (2013).


What’s an AGU fellow?

An AGU fellow is a special recognition for AGU members who have made exceptional contributions to earth and space sciences, are nominated by their peers, and are evaluated by section and focus group committees.

What is the criteria for nomination?

Primary criteria are: (1) major breakthrough, (2) major discovery, (3) paradigm shift, and/or (4) sustained impact.

How are nominees selected?

Nominees are initially reviewed by their primary section or focus group affiliation and, upon a nominator’s request, up to three additional section/focus group affiliations. Based on primary membership totals, each Section/Focus Group Fellows Committee is allocated a number of candidates to move forward for final review and consideration by a Committee of Fellows. This honor may be bestowed on only 0.1% of the membership in any given year.