Senior scientists win prestigious AMS award

The American Meteorological Society is honoring Warren Washington and Jerry Meehl (ESSL/CGD) with the 2009 Jule G. Charney Award for their “outstanding collaborative contributions to modeling climate and its response to anthropogenic and natural forcings.” The award will be presented in Phoenix next January at the AMS Annual Meeting.

The Jule G. Charney Award recognizes highly significant research or development achievement in the atmospheric or hydrologic sciences. It is named in honor of Jule Charney, who played a major role in establishing the theoretical framework on which numerical weather prediction is based. Past NCAR winners include Rick Anthes (1987), Robert Dickinson (1988), Kevin Trenberth (2000), Rol Madden (2001), and Rich Rotunno (2004).

Warren, who heads CGD’s Climate Research Section, is an internationally recognized expert on atmospheric science and climate research who specializes in computer modeling of Earth's climate. Jerry is an expert on tropical climate variability and future climate change. Both scientists contributed to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) report that shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with Al Gore.