AMS honors four staff members

Anthes, Fasullo, Schwartz, Steiner nab 2015 awards

October 8, 2014 | Congratulations are in order for several staff members selected for 2015 honors by the American Meteorological Society. The awards will be presented at the 2015 AMS Annual Meeting next January in Phoenix.

Richard Anthes
Richard Anthes. (© UCAR)

UCAR president emeritus Richard Anthes has been named an Honorary Member. This rare designation, which has gone to less than 120 people in the AMS’s 95-year history, is limited to "persons of acknowledged preeminence in the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences, either through their own contributions to the sciences or their application or through furtherance of the advance of those sciences in some other way."

Rick, the fifth president of UCAR and the longest-serving, held the post from 1988 to 2012. He previously served as NCAR director and held a faculty position at Pennsylvania State University. He has conducted extensive research in tropical and mesoscale meteorology, and played a key role in the development of the COSMIC observing system. Rick’s previous AMS honors include the Clarence L. Meisinger Award and the Jule G. Charney Award.

John Fasullo
John Fasullo. (© UCAR)

NESL/CGD scientist John Fasullo is receiving a 2015 Editor's Award for service to the Journal of Climate. The award cites John for "timely and thoughtful reviews of a large number of manuscripts." The Editor’s Award recognizes the process by which scientists contribute "much time and painstaking effort, largely unheralded, in a spirit of selfless commitment to the ideals of accuracy and lucidity in scientific writing."

John, who is also a research associate at the University of Colorado Boulder, is actively involved in studies aimed at understanding climate variability and change, as well as in community activities such as the Climate Data Guide and Climate Variability Diagnostics Package.

Craig Schwartz
Craig Schwartz. (© UCAR)

NESL/MMM Craig Schwartz is also receiving a 2015 Editor's Award, this one for the journal Weather and Forecasting. Craig is cited for "dedication to maintaining the journal’s high standards by providing perceptive and constructive reviews of many manuscripts spanning a broad range of topics."

Craig joined NCAR in 2009 after completing his master's degree at the University of Oklahoma. A specialist in severe storm modeling, Craig is part of the data assimilation group within MMM, working on bringing observational data into forecast models, with an emphasis on improving high-resolution numerical weather prediction.

Matthias Steiner
Matthias Steiner. (© UCAR)

Matthias Steiner, a scientist and program manager in RAL, has been chosen as an AMS Fellow. New Fellows are selected each year by the AMS Council from a slate of nominees that constitute no more than 0.2 percent of all AMS members. Those selected as Fellows "shall have made outstanding contributions to the atmospheric or related oceanic or hydrologic sciences or their applications during a substantial period of years."

Before joining NCAR in 2006, Matthias served as a research scientist at Princeton University and the University of Washington. His interests include flash flooding and other weather impacts, aviation weather, cloud physics, precipitation measurement, and mountain meteorology.