CISM Space Weather Summer School

The CISM Summer School is intended to give students a comprehensive immersion in the subject of space weather: what it is, what it does, and what can be done about it. Space weather is many things: beautiful when seen through the eyes of a sun-viewing telescope, fascinating when studied for its alien worlds of magnetic structures and phenomena, awesome when witnessed as a solar eruption or auroral storm, and devastating to the users of services it disrupts. Space weather links the Sun, the Earth, and the space in between in a branching chain of consequences. Weather systems on the Sun can spawn interplanetary storms of colossal size and energy that envelop the whole planet in electrical hurricanes. Such storms attack high-tech, complex, and expensive technological systems that provide much of the infrastructure that allows modern society to function.

About the presenter
Presenter(s): 
https://www2.hao.ucar.edu/sites/default/files/Schedule2013.pdf

Affiliation or organization:

Where

Building:

Room: 
Main Aud

Lab/division or program:

Type of event:

When
Date and time: 
Repeats every day until Fri Aug 02 2013 .
Tuesday, July 23, 2013 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 24, 2013 - 9:00am
Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 9:00am
Friday, July 26, 2013 - 9:00am
Saturday, July 27, 2013 - 9:00am
Sunday, July 28, 2013 - 9:00am
Monday, July 29, 2013 - 9:00am
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 9:00am
Thursday, August 1, 2013 - 9:00am
Friday, August 2, 2013 - 9:00am