NCAR scientists win national and international honors

December 17, 2010

BOULDER—Scientists at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) are receiving prestigious honors from a number of professional bodies for their research, leadership, and commitment to advancing science.

NCAR scientist Joseph Klemp has been chosen to receive the 2011 Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal, the highest honor presented by the American Meteorological Society (AMS). The award is presented for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure or behavior of the atmosphere. Klemp will also receive the 2011 Charles Franklin Brooks Award for outstanding services to the AMS.

Joseph Klemp and Peggy LeMone
Joseph Klemp, assisted by outgoing AMS president Margaret "Peggy" LeMone, displays the Rossby Medal and citation. The two NCAR scientists celebrated Klemp's honor during the AMS awards banquet on January 26, 2011, in Seattle. (Photo courtesy American Meteorological Society. This image is freely available for media use.)

Update: The AMS news blog noted Klemp's dual honor and posted a video interview with him just prior to the January 26, 2011, awards banquet in Seattle's Washington State Convention Center. See The Front Page Blog of the American Meteorological Society.



Brant Foote, director of NCAR’s Research Applications Laboratory, will receive the 2011 Cleveland Abbe Award for leadership of a major laboratory that has successfully implemented state-of-the-science methods for addressing problems that affect people’s lives.

NCAR scientist George Bryan will receive the 2011 Clarence Leroy Meisinger Award, which is given to promising early-career scientists for outstanding ability.

Maura Hagan, NCAR deputy director, and William Mahoney, director of NCAR’s Weather Systems & Assessment Program, have been named Fellows of the AMS.

In addition to these awards to be presented in early 2011, four NCAR scientists received AMS awards in 2010.

Mahoney received the Kenneth C. Spengler Award for leadership in fostering economic growth of the weather and climate enterprise.

George Bryan and Richard Rotunno, director of NCAR’s Mesoscale and Microscale Meteorology Division, received the Banner I. Miller Award for outstanding contributions to the science of hurricane and tropical weather forecasting.

William Randel, director of NCAR’s Atmospheric Chemistry Division, was made a Fellow of the AMS.

Other organizations also honored NCAR scientists in 2010. Peter Backlund, director of Research Relations and the Integrated Science Program at NCAR, was made a Fellow of the American Association for the Advance of Science (AAAS).

NCAR scientists Rolando Garcia and James Hurrell were named Fellows of the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

NCAR scientist Wojciech Grabowski was named a Fellow of the United Kingdom’s Royal Meteorological Society.

Joachim Kuettner, an NCAR scientist, was awarded the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit, Federal Republic of Germany.

In October, NCAR scientist Warren Washington was awarded the National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on a scientist. President Obama presented the medal.

Related Links

Warren Washington receives National Medal of Science


*Media & nonprofit use of images: Except where otherwise indicated, media and nonprofit use permitted with credit as indicated above and compliance with UCAR's terms of use. Find more images in the NCAR|UCAR Multimedia & Image Gallery.

The University Corporation for Atmospheric Research manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research under sponsorship by the National Science Foundation. Any opinions, findings and conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.