Kathryn Schmoll named to NASA Advisory Council

Kathryn Schmoll will advise the agency as it enters a new era of exploration

May 14, 2014

BOULDER—Kathryn Schmoll, vice president for finance and administration at the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR), has been named to the NASA Advisory Council. The council advises NASA's senior leadership on challenges and solutions facing the agency as it embarks on a new era of exploration.

“I look forward to serving on the NASA Advisory Council during these challenging but exciting times of space exploration,” Schmoll said.

Schmoll has deep roots at NASA. She worked at the agency for 16 years on the Hubble Space Telescope and other major science projects, and she served as assistant associate administrator in the NASA Headquarters Office of Space Science and Applications.  She then served as the comptroller of the Environmental Protection Agency, overseeing a multibillion-dollar budget, before joining UCAR in 1997.

NASA Advisory Council - group photo
The first meeting of the restructured NASA Advisory Council took place on April 16-17, 2014, at NASA Headquarters in Washington, DC. Standing left to right are: Kenneth Bowersox, Thomas Young, Miles O’Brien, Wanda Austin, Charles Bolden (NASA Administrator), Marion Blakey, Gen. Lester Lyles (Ex Officio), John Holdren (President’s Science Advisor and Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, The White House), David McComas, Steven Squyres (Chair), Charles Kennel (Ex Officio), William Ballhaus, Wayne Hale, Kathryn Schmoll, and Diane Rausch (Executive Director). (Photo courtesy NASA.)

The NASA Advisory Council and its members are assisting the agency on its path to Mars. This consists of a stepping stone approach to exploration that encompasses successful expansion from commercial cargo services to commercial crews, full utilization of the International Space Station until at least 2024, and development of new technologies, including the Orion Crew Vehicle and Space Launch System to travel to an asteroid and the Red Planet.

“This is an exciting opportunity for Katy to share her expertise on these critical issues,” said UCAR President Tom Bogdan. “This appointment further strengthens UCAR’s far-ranging bonds with the scientific community.”

NASA announced five other new members to its council. They are Wanda Austin, president and chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation; Wayne Hale, consultant for Special Aerospace Services of Boulder; Scott Hubbard, a consulting professor in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Stanford University; Miles O'Brien, veteran independent journalist; and Thomas Young, who served as executive vice president of Lockheed Martin Corporation.

UCAR is a nonprofit consortium of more than 100 North American colleges and universities with programs in the atmospheric and related Earth system sciences.


*Media & nonprofit use of images: Except where otherwise indicated, media and nonprofit use permitted with credit as indicated above and compliance with UCAR's terms of use. Find more images in the NCAR|UCAR Multimedia & Image Gallery.

The University Corporation for Atmospheric Research manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research under sponsorship by the National Science Foundation. Any opinions, findings and conclusions, or recommendations expressed in this publication are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.