Honors & Awards

NCAR and UCAR researchers are recognized nationally and internally for distinguished achievement and leadership in atmospheric and Earth system science. Here are some examples of that recognition (metrics from our founding in 1960 through awards announced by the end of fiscal year 2017).


American Association for the Advancement of Science

  • 17 Fellows

  • 1 President of the AAAS

AAAS logo

American Geophysical Union

  • 29 Fellows

  • 15 Major awards for scientific achievement, leadership, or service
  • 1 President of the AGU

 AGU logo

American Meteorological Society

  • 11 Honorary Members (highest honor)

  • 77 Fellows

  • 55 Major awards for scientific achievement, leadership, or service
  • 11 Presidents of the AMS

 AMS logo

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

  • 5 Members of the National Academy of Engineering

  • 3 Members of the National Academy of Sciences

  • 5 Awards for scientific achievement

NAS logo 

Presidential Awards

  • 1 National Medal of Science

  • 1 Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring

Seal of the President of the United States

Nobel Peace Prize 20017

The U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize with former Vice President Al Gore. Scores of scientists at the National Center for Atmospheric Research contributed to the IPCC effort, serving as authors or reviewers for the four assessment reports issued between 1990 and the 2007 prize, and several NCAR scientists played leadership roles. Computational and administrative staff at NCAR and UCAR provided considerable technical and logistical support to these efforts. These staff contributions to the ongoing work of the IPCC continue (see NCAR|UCAR staff contributions to IPCC reports since 1990).